10/10/2016

p_20161010_190736

We found a snail in Gunma, nibbling on hydrangeas. I don’t know why I like snails, or at least why I like drawing them. Maybe because they have unique bodies, and then the shell, which is like a bonus canvas if you’re feeling up to it.This one has four seasons, although summer is tiny and a student said, “Those look like tropical leaves…” when I explained that Autumn had the biggest role in the spiral. Also, the little center piece features a small fountain/well shape and wisteria. 藤 (fuji, wisteria) 井 (i, well). In a lot of traditional gardens, the fountain or well has the appropriate shape. Anyway, I thought it was interesting.

 

I guess I can always try more snails in the future.

In other daily news, today we went to Shinrinkoen and it was lovely. The sky never quite turned blue but it felt and smelled like Autumn. I skipped breakfast to ease the guilt of eating ice cream, because I usually get a mocha cone when we go there. This time, they had vanilla soft-serve, topped with kabocha whipped cream, walnuts and pumpkin seeds. I’ll probably never get it again, but it was great while it lasted (and I had it all to myself).

The weather lately has been creeping towards my ideal.. cool, breezy, with earthy smells even in Tokyo. Simultaneously comforting and triggering homesickness.

p_20161010_111132p_20161010_150931

Leave a Reply

